Hello from Hawaii

Discussion in 'Welcome & Introductions' started by Giuseppe, Feb 23, 2012.

1. Giuseppe

Giuseppe New Member

Hello to all. I'm Joe. Based on a recommendation by user Jeremiah and access granted by John, I'm here. Thank you John for letting me become part of the community.

A little about myself. I'm 30 living in the Honolulu area. I grew up in California and am originally from Italy. I'm medically retired from the military and currently work for Mitsubishi. I'm married and have a five year old son who is awesome in a go kart. I test drove cars from a few Rolex and ALMS firms and was a pit mechanic/engineer/coach for PR1Motorsports. I was a technician for BMW years ago although I do not retain the knowledge I once had.

On to the less boring stuff. Currently I am not a legitimate E30M3 owner. However, I do have quite a serious project on my hands. A few years back I purchased an 89 M3 that was beyond repair. I have been a fan of the E30 for many years an love the four door chassis. So rather than type, i'll explain with pictures.

This is the recipient car the day I purchased it.
    [​IMG]

First step, wheels.
    [​IMG]

Then I tore it down
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Stroked the 1.8L to 2.1L
    [​IMG]

Single mass (extremely noisy)
    [​IMG]

Bushings
    [​IMG]

Cams
    [​IMG]

Reassembly
    [​IMG]

Cheap Injector Service
    [​IMG]

Install
    [​IMG]

Paint
    [​IMG]

At this point I was happy with the car. I moved to Hawaii from California and discovered there is not a track here. So I decided I would get another project. In comes aforementioned M3. I purchased this car sight unseen besides photos online. It was completely disassembled.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

You get the idea.